Nominee Michael Bastian Featured on CFDA website

Back in March, I shared the news that our very own Michael Bastian had been nominated for the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards in the ‘Menswear Designer of the Year’ category (see here). He was previously nominated in the same category in 2008, 2009, and 2010.

This year’s winner will be announced on Monday, June 6. Until then, you ought to look at this terrific feature on the CFDA website. The post spotlights Bastian’s career so far and includes a short interview with the man himself (reproduced below) — Bastian even gives ‘My Affair’ a shout-out! Thanks!

Five Questions

What were you doing when you heard about your nomination?
“I was in my office with my team laying out my spring ‘12 collection. We were looking at fabrics. “

What career did you want when you were 16?
“When I was 16, I was going to be in advertising. I watched a little too much ‘Bewitched’ and Darrin Stevens had a good job.”

Who is your fashion idol?
“Perry Ellis when he was alive. What he was doing was so amazing. It was traditional and clean, yet sexy at the same time. You knew it couldn’t be anything but American.”

Who is your biggest fan?
“A sweet man named Michael Chang started a blog named ‘My Affair with Michael Bastian.’ Now, he’s a friend of the family. When you Google my name, this was the first thing that came up for a long time.”

If you were getting the CFDA Lifetime Achievement Award, who would you choose as your presenter?
“Should that day ever come, it could only be Jim Moore at GQ. He’s a hero of mine and he’s done the most to get us where we are today.”

(From CFDA.)

