Michael Bastian Profiles Eugenia Gonzalez Ruiz-Olloqui

‘My Affair’ has long known that the perennially chic Eugenia Gonzalez Ruiz-Olloqui functions as an integral part of Michael Bastian’s team. Eugenia, whom I have had the pleasure of meeting, is an absolute gem. She also happens to be the subject of a lot of searches that lead people to this website!

Bastian recently profiled Eugenia (whom he has described, among other things, as his “ideal travel companion”). This is what he had to say:

Oh what can I say about Eugenia– by far the closest person to me. Officially she’s my Vice President of PR and Marketing, but unofficially, she keeps everything together for all of us and keeps us on track. When we decided to start designing for women in our GANT by MB collection, we spent a lot of time thinking about who this new GANT by MB girl really is. We wanted to make sure she didn’t just turn into the little sister of our GANT guy– you know destroyed chinos, polos, etc– cute preppy girl. That just wasn’t so sexy or how I think most young girls want to dress right now. So we started filtering all of our ideas through Eugenia– a cool young girl who lives in a city, has a challenging job, but still goes out a lot, spends time with her friends and family, dresses up when she feels like it, open to changing her look every day. And somehow this developed into her really taking an active role in our GANT women’s design, which I’m very proud of. When I look at the collection, I always see a lot of Eugenia in it, and if you know her, I think you’ll see it too.

