Vanity Fair Likes Michael Bastian’s Stuff

From Vanity Fair, transcribed by ‘My Affair’:

CFDA Menswear Designer of the Year Michael Bastian is known for combining modern and luxurious tailoring with a deconstructed American style. His collaboration with GANT all but brought the label back. Herewith, his favorite things…

GROOMING PRODUCTS
– Shampoo: Frédéric Fekkai Protein Rx Reparative Shampoo (smells like the best vanilla milk shake)
– Moisturizer: La Prairie Skin Caviar Luxe Cream (a crazy addiction I picked up in my Bergdorf days)
– Cologne: Eau Savage (Christian Dior) and Sycomore (Chanel)
– Razor: Panasonic Wet/Dry Electric Shaver
– Toothpaste: Crest 3D White Vivid
– Soap: Whatever I picked up at the last hotel I stayed at
– Hair Products: Garnier Fructis Conditioning Glaze

CLOTHES
– Jeans: Michael Bastian “Omar” Belted-Back Jeans
– Boxers or Briefs: Tezenis Briefs (I stock up every time I pass one of their stores in Europe)
– Sneakers: Nike
– Best Dress Day Shine: Alden Condovan Tassel Loafer (I’m a loafer guy, but then I switch to old work boots when it snows)
– Watch: GANT by Michael Bastian Limited Edition watch in silver on a ribbon band
– Favorite Designer: When Perry Ellis was alive, no one did it better. I think about him all the time.
– Sunglasses: Randolph Engineering Mirrored Aviator.
– Tie: A black or navy Charvet silk knit could be the only tie you’ll ever need
– Best Shop: Any Duane Reade drugstore (I can spend hours in there)
– Black-Tie Affair: Stubbs and Wootton Black Velvet Tassel Loafers

HOME
– Where Do You Live: New York City, right above Washington Square Park
– Favorite Art: Outsider Art and Photography
– Sheets: L.L. Bean, navy flannel
– Stationer: Luke Pointfill/Thornwillow Press
– Favorite Gadget: The Leatherman Super Tool (you could build a house with that thing)
– Car: The New York subway gets me everywhere I need to go
– Favorite Cocktail: Talisker Whisky on the rocks
– Luggage: The North Face

INSPIRATIONS
– Favorite Discovery: Portugal (why don’t more people vacation there?)
– Who Inspires You: Any public-school teacher, like my brother Dennis
– Necessary Extravagance: Regular massage
– Favorite Place in the World: My cozy bed on a snowy night
– Favorite Charity: Camp Good Days (gives kids with cancer and other diseases a week away at a camp, where they can forget about everything and just be kids again)
– Favorite Movie: American Beauty
– Favorite Hotel: I’ve got a very soft spot for the Arizona Biltmore Hotel (it kills me that it’s in a state whose policies I don’t agree with at this moment)
– Favorite Colors: Red and that strange, peaceful color we call dolphin that is right in between blue and gray

